

GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

Abstract

Secretariat of the Kerala Legislature – Centre for Parliamentary Studies and Training – Governing Council – Reconstituted - Orders issued.

SECRETARIAT OF THE KERALA LEGISLATURE

GO (MS) No. 839/2017/Leg.

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 18.05.2017.

Read: - 1) GO (MS) No. 1199/2011/Leg dated 22.10.2011

- 2) GO (MS) No. 1402/2011/Leg, dated 20.12.2011.
- 3) GO (MS) No. 739/2014/Leg, dated 08.05.2014.
- 4) GO (MS) No. 843/2012/Leg, dated 03.07.2012.

<u>ORDER</u>

Centre for Parliamentary Studies and Training (CPST), as an independent wing, was established in the Kerala Legislature Secretariat vide papers read as first and second with a mission to foster democracy by strengthening the institution of Legislature through informed legislators, smart and intelligent officials and encouraging greater engagement between the public and the Legislature.

- 2. For the administration and conduct of business of the Centre, and also to suggest proposals for its betterment, two separate committees viz. a Governing Council and an Executive Committee were constituted vide papers read as third and fourth above, respectively.
- 3. As the tenure of the existing Governing Council expires on 07.05.2017, Hon'ble Speaker has ordered the reconstitution of the Governing Council for the Centre for Parliamentary Studies and Training of the Kerala Legislature Secretariat with the following members.
 - 1. Hon'ble Speaker, Kerala Legislative Assembly Chairman and Patron
 - 2. Hon'ble Leader of Opposition, Kerala Legislative Assembly Member, Ex-Officio
 - 3. Hon'ble Deputy Speaker, Kerala Legislative Assembly Member, Ex-Officio
 - 4. Shri. A. Pradeepkumar, MLA Member
 - 5. Shri. K.S.Sabarinadhan, MLA Member
 - 6. Prof. Abid Hussain Thangal, MLA Member
 - 7. Dean, Faculty of Law, Kerala University Member, Ex-Officio
 - 8. Head of the Department, Department of History, University of Kerala Member, Ex-Officio
 - 9. Dr. N. K. Jayakumar, Former Vice Chancellor, NUALS Member

- 10. Dr. C. Ramakrishnan Nair, Additional Secretary (Rtd.), Law Department of Kerala Member
- 11. Secretary, Kerala Legislature Secretariat Member Secretary
 - 4. The term of the Governing Council will be three years from 8th May, 2017.

By Order of the Governor,

V.K. Babu Prakash, Secretary.

Copy To: -

- 1. The Private Secretary to Hon'ble Speaker.
- 2. The Private Secretary to Hon'ble Deputy Speaker.
- 3. The Private Secretary to Hon'ble Leader of Opposition.
- 4. The PA to Secretary.
- 5. The persons concerned.
- 6. The Stock file.

7. IT Section.